Book Review: Wizard’s First Rule

Finished this book while out hiking the Davis Mountains last weekend. I’m glad I stuck this one out. Around 400 pages in I was wondering what the fuss was about and how I can possibly know two people who feel so passionately about the series. But then it started to make sense once Richard met the Mord-Sith. After the last 200 pages flew by I can see why people enjoy it – it is quite entertaining. It’s obvious that the series doesn’t really bring up any new ideas or tropes, but it puts them together in an exciting way – making the Star Wars comparisons all the more appropriate. If it’s any indication of how I feel: I bought the second book earlier today. Let’s see if I can be further proven wrong. I’d recommend it for high fantasy fans, especially Wheel of Time people.

Leave a Reply

