Book Review: The Martian

As advertised and promised, this book was very entertaining and a very quick read. I only wish it had been under better circumstances. I spent the night laying with my 16 year old cat waiting for her to pass away, and read this intermittently while she slept. The plot is pretty basic (as expected): a guy is stranded on Mars, now we have to save him. The science is accurate which I always appreciate, and presented in a manner that makes it easy to understand (or gloss over if you don’t). The pacing is exceptional – I’m reminded of Michael Crichton novels where I just refuse to set them down until I know how they end. Some of the supporting cast could probably be better developed, but it doesn’t seem to diminish the fun of the book at all. Highly recommend. Hopefully it won’t take me as long to watch this film adaptation as Contact did.

Leave a Reply

